Discovery of new coronavirus variants in UK

 new crown virus variation found in the UK.Jpg

Health Secretary Matt Hancock (Matt Hancock) said in the house of Commons on Monday that researchers are urgently investigating whether the new version of the new coronavirus is more contagious than the previous version, even if he is also trying to reassure members about the risks of the new version.

"there is currently no indication that this variant is more likely to lead to severe diseases and the latest clinical recommendation is that this variant is unlikely to lead to vaccine ineffectiveness," Hancock said.

more than 1,000 cases of new variations of infection have been identified, mainly in southern England, and the WHO (who) has been alerted.

"we do not know to what extent these cases are caused by this change," Hancock added, "but regardless of the cause, we must act promptly and decisivelyControl the fatal disease while carrying out vaccination work. "

although the SARS-CoV-2 virus, which causes a new form of coronavirus pneumonia (COVID-19, i.e. 2,019 coronavirus disease), has been mutating, only one variation has previously been found to alter the nature of the infection, according to virologist.This is the so-called 614G strain, which largely replaced the 614D strain that prevailed in the first few months of the epidemic.

Alan Wilson, director of the Institute of Biomedical Science, told the financial times that he began to hear" rumors "about the new strain on Sunday evening.For scientists, the key issue is whether the new crown virus detection currently used can detect new variations and whether people infected by the early strains have the same level of protection for the new variations.

Wilson said that the new crown virus test is usually able to detect different viral subtypes, which appears to indicate that they can detect new variations, but it may take several weeks to test a sufficient number of infected people to determine how the current test will respond.

whether the new variation means that those who are immune - whether from vaccination or from previous infections - will no longer be protected, Wilson added, adding that it will take" a few months "to determine."We are cautiously optimistic that this will not be a major issue for us."

professor Alan Mcnally, an expert in microbial genetics at the University of Birmingham, said he was "working hard" to characterise the new strain and understand its origin."It is important to maintain a calm and rational view of the strain, as it is a normal evolution of the virus, and we expect new variations to emerge and disappear over time."

" it's not the time to worry about this new variation, but I salute the monitoring measures in the UK that have allowed the new variation to be discovered quickly, "Professor Mcnally added.

another variation, 20A.EU1, was identified in October as the rapid spread of farm workers from Spain to most of Europe.Each variation has its own genetic characteristics and can be traced back to its origin.

according to Andrew Davidson, a virologist at the University of Bristol, 614 is so far considered to be the only variation that affects viral behavior.This variation is considered to "enhance the infectious ability of the virus through this variation" and has become "the main variation in many countries"."However, many studies have shown that this strain does not lead to more severe diseases."

英国发现新冠病毒新变体

英国发现新冠病毒新变体.jpg

英国卫生大臣马特•汉考克(Matt Hancock)周一向下议院表示,研究人员正在紧急调查新冠病毒的这种新变体是否比之前的变体更容易传染,即便他同时也试图让议员们不要太过担心这种变体带来的风险。

“目前没有任何迹象表明,这种变体更有可能引发严重疾病,最新的临床建议是,这种变体不太可能导致疫苗无效,”汉考克表示。

目前已发现1000多例新变体的感染病例,主要在英格兰南部,世界卫生组织(WHO)已收到警报。

“我们不知道这些病例在多大程度上是由这种变体造成的,”汉考克补充说,“但不管原因是什么,我们都必须迅速采取果断行动……在展开疫苗接种工作的同时控制住这种致命疾病。”

虽然导致新型冠状病毒肺炎(COVID-19,即2019冠状病毒病)的SARS-CoV-2病毒一直在发生变异,但病毒学家们表示,此前只发现有一种变体改变了感染的性质。这就是所谓的614G毒株,它在很大程度上取代了疫情最初几个月盛行的614D毒株。

生物医学科学研究所(Institute of Biomedical Science)所长艾伦•威尔逊(Allan Wilson)向英国《金融时报》表示,他于周日晚间开始听到有关新毒株的“传言”。对科学家来说,关键问题是目前使用的新冠病毒检测能否检测到新的变体,以及被早期毒株感染的人群是否对新变体有相同水平的保护。

威尔逊表示,新冠病毒检测通常能检测出不同的病毒亚型,这似乎表明它们能检测出新变体,但可能还需要数周时间对足够多的感染者进行检测,才能确定目前的检测会如何反应。

关于新变体是否意味着那些有免疫力的人——无论是来自接种疫苗、还是以往曾被感染——将不再获得保护,威尔逊补充说,需要“几个月”才能确定。“我们谨慎乐观地认为,对我们来说,这不会是个重大问题。”

伯明翰大学微生物基因组学专家艾伦•麦克纳利(Alan McNally)教授表示,正在“花大力气”表征新毒株,并理解其起源。“对这种毒株保持冷静和理性的看法至关重要,因为这是病毒正常的进化,我们预计,随着时间的推移,新的变体会不断出现和消失。”

“现在还没有到需要担心这种新变体的时候,但我对英国的监控措施表示敬意,正是这些措施让新变体被迅速发现,”麦克纳利教授补充说。

另一个变体叫做20A.EU1,在10月被识别为从西班牙的农场工人迅速传播到欧洲大部分地区。每种变体都有自己的基因特征,可以追溯其起源。

布里斯托尔大学病毒学家安德鲁•戴维森(Andrew Davidson)表示,到目前为止,614G被认为是唯一一种影响病毒行为的变体。该变体被认为“通过这种变异提升了病毒的传染能力”,目前已成为“许多国家的主要变体”。“然而许多研究表明,这种毒株不会导致更严重的疾病。”